Lead: Linda and John
On a beautiful sunny morning seven of us left Wick to walk through an area designated by CADW as ‘possessing a landscape of outstanding historic interest.’
We started our walk in Penmark from the 16th century Six Bells Inn before picking up a footpath opposite the Village Hall which had acted as the village school until 1931. Bravely following Liz through a field of bullocks, we scrambled down a woodland path before crossing the Waycock River, over the flood plain and then uphill where we all enjoyed the beautiful view down the valley. Having caught our breath we made our way to Penn Onn, passing the birth place of Iolo Morgannwg, and on into the picturesque village of Llancarfan. Wandering through the heart of the village we admired its beautiful buildings both new and old – a renovated chapel and Wesleyan church, the 18th century Fox and Hounds pub, a former corn mill and wheel (where we had the obligatory photo!) and the historic medieval church. Inside the church, however,the beauty of the “Grand Design” houses paled into insignificance when we saw the recently-uncovered 15th century wall paintings which had been hidden under plaster until 2008.
Following a coffee break we left Llancarfan behind and followed a newly-opened route along the Carfan valley. Now it was nature’s turn! Ponds with ducks, pheasants, buzzards but unfortunately no Red Kite this time. Crossing the old stone bridge we followed the road back uphill to Penmark to complete our circular walk of about 3.5 miles.